Edge 500/800 Errors

Discussions on Garmin's Edge and ForeRunner Devices
Post Reply
Rusty Smith
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 2:46 pm

Edge 500/800 Errors

Post by Rusty Smith » Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:49 pm

Hi Stuart.
I am using both an Edge 500 and 800.
I get the following errors:

1) Start time is GMT, any way to add a local time option to iSmartTrain, or have it read the system clock, or will it always require a manual edit?
2) iSmartTrain uses "total elapsed time" from the Garmin device for the "duration" field. I think it should use the "time" (stopwatch time) data from the Garmin instead. That would report a time consistent with the user's preference re: auto start/stop feature on the Garmin.
3) When I select "view > route map" in iSmartTrain, it shows me riding across the Atlantic Ocean, making a temporary stop in Northern Tibet, and then returning to Atlanta, GA - I don't think I did that, am I importing incorrectly? I am using 3.0.8 beta 03.
4) On the 800, activity files stored on the internal SD card are not available via the "download" button, only via manual import.
Rusty Smith
MacBook Pro (Unibody)
OS X 10.6.6
iSmartTrain v3.0.8 Beta 3
Polar Serial Adapter with Keyspan USA-19HS
Polar S625x
Polar cs200
Garmin Edge 500
Garmin Edge 800
Garmin Forerunner 310xt

Stuart
Site Admin
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:15 pm

Re: Edge 500/800 Errors

Post by Stuart » Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:41 am

Rusty Smith wrote:Hi Stuart.
I am using both an Edge 500 and 800.
I get the following errors:

1) Start time is GMT, any way to add a local time option to iSmartTrain, or have it read the system clock, or will it always require a manual edit?
2) iSmartTrain uses "total elapsed time" from the Garmin device for the "duration" field. I think it should use the "time" (stopwatch time) data from the Garmin instead. That would report a time consistent with the user's preference re: auto start/stop feature on the Garmin.
3) When I select "view > route map" in iSmartTrain, it shows me riding across the Atlantic Ocean, making a temporary stop in Northern Tibet, and then returning to Atlanta, GA - I don't think I did that, am I importing incorrectly? I am using 3.0.8 beta 03.
4) On the 800, activity files stored on the internal SD card are not available via the "download" button, only via manual import.


Hi Rusty,
Can you try the released version of 3.0.8, please, as I know that I've made a number of improvements in the .fit file handling for that release. Can you send me a screen shot of the folder structure for the 800, so that I can see how the internal SD card appears, please. It should be fairly simple to add it to the list of places that the software looks for files.

Thanks

Stuart

Biker Bob
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:50 pm

Re: Edge 500/800 Errors

Post by Biker Bob » Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:53 pm

I also see these bugs when downloading data from my Garmin 500 to iSmart 3.0.8. iSmart is definitely using the wrong data for elapsed time.

-RE.

Stuart
Site Admin
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:15 pm

Re: Edge 500/800 Errors

Post by Stuart » Sat Apr 09, 2011 10:16 am

Biker Bob wrote:I also see these bugs when downloading data from my Garmin 500 to iSmart 3.0.8. iSmart is definitely using the wrong data for elapsed time.

-RE.


Hi,
Can you send me a sample file from your Edge 500 which shows this, please, and I'll have a look at it.

Thanks

Stuart

Scottnorway
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 9:38 am

Re: Edge 500/800 Errors

Post by Scottnorway » Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:22 am

I'm getting the same errors.
1. Duration is wrong. Having to correct it with reference to the Garmin 800 itself. Although I correct the time, the average speed does not change to the correct value when I save the session.
2. Time is GMT instead of local norwegian time. (setting is correct in Garmin 800)

Let me know if you need files etc from the Garmin 800 :)

tflawlis
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 4:09 pm

Re: Edge 500/800 Errors

Post by tflawlis » Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:22 pm

I have the same issue. I am running 3.0.9. I have an Edge 500 and a 910XT. After a year's worth of data, I JUST realized the time downloaded directly from the device is GMT. My 910XT is correct, although that download process uses the Garmin download. Obviously, I would like to download my Edge500 directly from the device. Will there be any updates to resolve this? Or should I change my process and download the Edge 500 through the Garmin software?

Thanks...

Post Reply