Page 1 of 2

Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:07 pm
by mrthomas
I have a Polar S720i and the Polar USB IR so I can't sync with my iMac. Considering my options... buy a Polar serial IR (£30 :o ) plus a serial to USB adaptor (another £30 :shock: ) or sell the s720i (to a PC user) and get the latest Polar HRM, FT80.

FOr the second option, the FT80 uses Polar FlowLink. Does anyone know if the FlowLink method for uploading exercise data from the FT80 works with an iMac and iSMARTtrain.com?

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:29 pm
by Stuart
Hi,
no, sorry, not yet - I do plan to support it at some point.

Regards

Stuart

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:28 pm
by mrthomas
Can you say that it will definitely be supported at some point in the future? If so I'll get an FT80 on my christmas list and watch your site with interest :D (and carry on using my PC in the mean time).

Thanks, Ian.

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:23 pm
by Stuart
Hi Ian,
No, I can't say definitely until I've got my hands on one for testing. Polar have a bit of a reputation for making USB devices that don't adhere to the USB spec., like the white IR interface.

Regards

Stuart

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Posted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:53 pm
by mrthomas
Thanks Stuart - I completely understand. I'll wait and see what happens. Keep up the good work. Ian.

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:16 pm
by KevinS
I too am interested in using the FT80 with my new MacBookPro.... are there challanges in my way or will iSmartTrain gather data from the wrist unit.... are there accesories I need to purchase additionall? (like *Flow) device etc.?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Kevin

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Posted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 8:32 am
by ubutt
Is there any update on this...? most of us have lost any hope that Polar will solve this problem so were all looking to you....???

Please don't let us down :-)

Ulfat

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Posted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 6:08 pm
by Stuart
ubutt wrote:Is there any update on this...? most of us have lost any hope that Polar will solve this problem so were all looking to you....???

Please don't let us down :-)

Ulfat


Nothing yet, but I hope to get some work done on this and the FT40 & FT60 in the new year.

Thanks & Regards

Stuart

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Posted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:37 pm
by Stuart
FT80 is now supported - http://www.ismarttrain.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4314

Thanks & Regards

Stuart

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.

Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:02 am
by kcamdenesq
No dice for me. Now I admit I have no flippin' idea of what an FTDI file is, but I plug in the flow link, put the FT80 on it, set the FF80/flowlink, but it is not detected. How does one get the device to be detected?