Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Discussions on the Polar range of Heart Rate Monitors
mrthomas
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:01 pm

Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Post by mrthomas » Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:07 pm

I have a Polar S720i and the Polar USB IR so I can't sync with my iMac. Considering my options... buy a Polar serial IR (£30 :o ) plus a serial to USB adaptor (another £30 :shock: ) or sell the s720i (to a PC user) and get the latest Polar HRM, FT80.

FOr the second option, the FT80 uses Polar FlowLink. Does anyone know if the FlowLink method for uploading exercise data from the FT80 works with an iMac and iSMARTtrain.com?

Stuart
Site Admin
Posts: 441
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:15 pm

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Post by Stuart » Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:29 pm

Hi,
no, sorry, not yet - I do plan to support it at some point.

Regards

Stuart

mrthomas
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:01 pm

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Post by mrthomas » Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:28 pm

Can you say that it will definitely be supported at some point in the future? If so I'll get an FT80 on my christmas list and watch your site with interest :D (and carry on using my PC in the mean time).

Thanks, Ian.

Stuart
Site Admin
Posts: 441
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:15 pm

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Post by Stuart » Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:23 pm

Hi Ian,
No, I can't say definitely until I've got my hands on one for testing. Polar have a bit of a reputation for making USB devices that don't adhere to the USB spec., like the white IR interface.

Regards

Stuart

mrthomas
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:01 pm

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Post by mrthomas » Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:53 pm

Thanks Stuart - I completely understand. I'll wait and see what happens. Keep up the good work. Ian.

KevinS
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:46 pm

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Post by KevinS » Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:16 pm

I too am interested in using the FT80 with my new MacBookPro.... are there challanges in my way or will iSmartTrain gather data from the wrist unit.... are there accesories I need to purchase additionall? (like *Flow) device etc.?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Kevin

ubutt
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 8:27 am

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Post by ubutt » Mon Dec 07, 2009 8:32 am

Is there any update on this...? most of us have lost any hope that Polar will solve this problem so were all looking to you....???

Please don't let us down :-)

Ulfat

Stuart
Site Admin
Posts: 441
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:15 pm

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Post by Stuart » Tue Dec 08, 2009 6:08 pm

ubutt wrote:Is there any update on this...? most of us have lost any hope that Polar will solve this problem so were all looking to you....???

Please don't let us down :-)

Ulfat


Nothing yet, but I hope to get some work done on this and the FT40 & FT60 in the new year.

Thanks & Regards

Stuart

Stuart
Site Admin
Posts: 441
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:15 pm

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.com

Post by Stuart » Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:37 pm

FT80 is now supported - http://www.ismarttrain.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4314

Thanks & Regards

Stuart

kcamdenesq
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 3:59 am

Re: Polar FT80 and FlowLink - Does it work with iSMARTtrain.

Post by kcamdenesq » Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:02 am

No dice for me. Now I admit I have no flippin' idea of what an FTDI file is, but I plug in the flow link, put the FT80 on it, set the FF80/flowlink, but it is not detected. How does one get the device to be detected?

Post Reply