Polar S725x lap data scrambled

Discussions on the Polar range of Heart Rate Monitors
Frank Bowman
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 4:26 pm

Polar S725x lap data scrambled

Post by Frank Bowman » Sat Jul 26, 2008 4:32 pm

Hello.

I've just switched to V3 and everything seemed to go flawlessly - a real mac experience. But new downloads have scrambled lap data (old readings imported by V2 look ok). All the data on the calendar and graphs is ok; it's just in 'lap data' that nothing makes sense. The times have readings like 224:02:48.1 and the speed/HR/cadence readings are clearly nonsense values. It's as though the time format has been read or interpreted wrongly?

Also, how do I get connection to read the Polar settings? I keep getting 'no data' error messages?

Thanks.

Frank Bowman
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 4:26 pm

Re: Polar S725x lap data scrambled

Post by Frank Bowman » Sun Jul 27, 2008 8:12 pm

Hello again.

I've tried downloading to my ibook on V2 and the files come out OK; they can be imported to my imac V3 where they are OK unlike the files downloaded directly to V3 which suggests to me a V3 bug? I've still not figured out how to 'manage hardware' as I can't get a connection with my S725x.

Cheers.

RayG
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:33 am

Re: Polar S725x lap data scrambled

Post by RayG » Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:39 am

I've got a similar problem with a 725x and v3 of iSmarttrain (OS10.4.11, using a Keyspan USB-Serial adaptor with the driver that came with it).

Haven't had any problems with v2.0.3 in 3 months. Downloaded v3, imported all my v2 files. All good. Downloaded an exercise file from my watch. Some of the info the watch worked out for itself (Max HR, Average HR, exercise time) was fine, but there was rubbish data. Tried downloading with v2. Same problem.

Deleted v3 from my computer and downloaded with v2 - all fixed now.

I'll just keep using v2 for now.

Ray

Frank Bowman
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 4:26 pm

Re: Polar S725x lap data scrambled

Post by Frank Bowman » Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:01 pm

Hello Ray.

It's a relief to find that I'm not imagining it! I also found that downloading using V2 with V3 already installed and run on my desk top didn't work. But I haven't yet run my data and log file through V3 on my laptop so V2 still works ok on this. I've noticed since my last posting that the ascent data on the HR graph is also nonsense for files downloaded directly to V3.

The files still seem OK if transferred from V2 on my laptop to V3 on the desktop, except that power PI & L/R scales appear on the graph but with no actual data lines. And I still haven't figured out the 'manage hardware' function.

I'm looking forward to an answer from support.

Frank.

Stuart
Site Admin
Posts: 441
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:15 pm

Re: Polar S725x lap data scrambled

Post by Stuart » Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:46 am

Hi guys,
Sorry for the delay in replying - it looks like I'm not getting notified of new topics in all the areas of the forum, only some.

1. Are you downloading using 'Download' button, or the method described here - http://www.ismarttrain.com/articles/AlterDownload.php - you'll need to select 'S625x' as the model type.
2. If you're using the 'Download' button, can you try the the method, please - it'll help me eliminate a few possibilities.
3. If you go into 'Data Graph', what is the device reported as in the Left-Hand column under the graph, where it's got 'HRM/Interval'.

I'm probably going to be releasing V3.0.1 this week, which probably won't fix this, but I will be working on it for V3.0.2.

Regards

Stuart

Frank Bowman
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 4:26 pm

Re: Polar S725x lap data scrambled

Post by Frank Bowman » Fri Aug 08, 2008 7:37 am

Hello Stuart.

I've always used the Add icon to download sessions. Tried the Download button which seems to accept data but then no session appears in the diary. Selecting S625x in the Add dialogue box appears to have solved most of the problem. The graph now contains lap markings, and the graph and lap data all look sound compared to the same download in V2 dragged and dropped in to V3. The only scrambled data is now the graph ascent total (eg 1.465e+7) although the total climb figure and data table figures look OK. Both graphs now say S625x/5 secs for device.

Lap pop ups are difficult to, well, pop up in either of the two graphs.

I still haven't figured out how to connect the HRM through manage hardware.......

Frank.

Kamayen
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 2:54 pm

Re: Polar S725x lap data scrambled

Post by Kamayen » Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:05 pm

Hi Stuart,

I had no problems importing my sessions by doing the following procedure: add/new session/download/read. I'm using a Polar S725x and by selecting the S625x model and iSMARTtrain v3.0, everything worked perfect. Now that I've updated to v3.01, altitude reading in the altitude axis is scrambled and my heart rate readings are wrong e.g. max HR for the session reads 220 instead of 167 (and believe me I wouldn't be here writing if my HR went up to 220 for 25mn :-))
Any clue on how to import the correct readings?
BTW, are there any expected dates for the Polar USB-IRda support?

Cheers,
Kamayen.

RayG
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:33 am

Re: Polar S725x lap data scrambled

Post by RayG » Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:08 am

Stuart

That method is the only one that's ever worked for me in V2, so it's the one I used on V3.

I can't check in 'Data Graph' in V3 for you because, as I mentioned, I deleted V3 from my Applications folder.

Ray

Frank Bowman
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 4:26 pm

Re: Polar S725x lap data scrambled

Post by Frank Bowman » Thu Aug 21, 2008 3:36 pm

Hello again Stuart.

My latest graph using V3.0.2 is even worse I'm afraid. HRs for much of the graph is bumping along the zero line, and for other intervals is clearly wrong. Lap data HR looks OK. Power is also all wrong with off-top-graph spikes at the beginning of some intervals Again, lap data looks OK.

I've attached a JPEG of the data graph.

The same session looks OK added to V2 on my iBook and if this file is dragged over to V3 on my iMac.

Thanks.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Stuart
Site Admin
Posts: 441
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:15 pm

Re: Polar S725x lap data scrambled

Post by Stuart » Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:48 pm

Hi,
In the latest release, V3.0.3, I've changed the S625x download code back to the code form V2.0.3 - can you tell me if this makes any difference? My problem is that I don't have an S725x for testing.

Regards

Stuart

Post Reply